Victoria falls facts for kids, situated on the Zambezi River

The Victoria Falls is a very beautiful waterfall in South of Africa, situated on the Zambezi River and is at the border of the two countries Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Few interesting facts about the Victoria Falls are:

  • Width: 1708 metres
  • Height: 108 metres
  • Naming: The Kololo tribes first described it “Mosi-oa-Tunya” which means, “The smoke that Thunders”. Later, David Livingstone, a Scottish explorer became the first European to view the Mosi-oa-Tunya and named it Victoria Falls in the honour of Queen Victoria.
  • Date of discovery: 16th November, 1855.
  • Water-fall-speed: 550 l/min on an average

The Victoria Falls is considered to be one of the biggest and most overwhelming waterfalls in the world. It is one of the most spectacular attractions of Africa and is said to be among the unusual waterfalls in the world.

The Victoria Falls is considered to be two times the height of Niagara Falls and almost two times the width of the Horseshoe Falls in North America. It is created basically by the Zambezi River, which is more than 1.25 miles in width. It suddenly becomes narrow and creates the 108 metres chasm, making the Victoria Falls the only waterfall in the world with over one hundred height.

It is said that the roar of the Victoria Falls can be heard from a distance of more than 40kilometres. Also, the spray of water that emanates from the Victoria Falls is said to rise up to about 400 metres and can be visible to people who are more than 50 kms away. Such is the unusual yet extraordinarily charismatic strength of the Victoria Falls.

The Zambezi river flows over a basalt sheet and then into a shallow valley and is bordered by sandstone hills.

There are two islands present at the crest of the Victoria waterfall. These two islands are named Boaruka Island and the Livingstone Island.

The Victoria Falls from the Zambezi River is said to experience a rainy season that starts late of November and continues till early April. The rest of the year is pretty dry for this area. Annually the river floods during the months of February to May and it flood rate reaches its peak in the month of April.

The Victoria Falls is divided into 6 gorges that distinguish the entire length of the river. These gorges are as follows:

  • First Gorge: When the river turns into the falls.
  • Second Gorge: 250 m south of the main falls.
  • Third Gorge: 600 m to the south of the Second Gorge.
  • Fourth Gorge: 15 km more to the south of the Third Gorge.
  • Fifth Gorge:55 km more to the south of the Fourth Gorge.

Songwe Gorge: 5.3 km more to the south of the Fifth Gorge.